Canoe trip, Fairbanks

Life on the river

Once I landed in Fairbanks I found myself a campsite and planned to put my feet up for a couple of days. But as life on the road can lead to many directions you never quite know whats round the corner or what opportunity the winds of fate will blow your way.
This time it happens was one of those rare ones. An experience you’ll always remember. I was introduced to a bunch of great people living on the outside of town in self built cabins/houses in beautiful settings. These were a very welcoming lot and invited me on a 2 day canoe trip they had planned for the next day, this being their annual 80 mile trip down the Takana river.
I really had an awesome time with these guys and I thank them all for a truly Alaskan experience, canoeing down the river seeing Bald Eagle’s flying overhead was amazing, also I want to wish them all the best of luck with their own journey’s wherever they may take them.
The photos can speak for themselves.

loading up the canoe's


Jill and Missy


On shore waiting to launch off


on the river..... Slevitch and Allison


Joe and Missy


canoe beer holder....... ready for a case or two


The Takana river


Ian and Winona


campsite on the river


A beautiful day.......just an hour before a crazy storm.


Having the time of my life.........


my canoe mate Jill up front


one of three dogs on the trip



The Takana river in the distance.....

Canoe Crew.... Fairbanks Alaska 2011

and on and on the river flows………

About brian

cyclist, organic gardener, bike mechanic and a seeker on the spiritual path, when not doing any of these you can find me meditating, practicing chi gong and yoga.... Life is Beautiful!!!
This entry was posted in Alaska, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Canoe trip, Fairbanks

  1. David mikesell says:

    Great photos! Have a great trip, good luck. Slevitch.

  2. carol dickson says:

    you must be having the best time ever. brill photos keep taking good care loads o love mam xxxxxx

Leave a comment