A couple of days oot…

IMG_1165_Snapseed

 

For the past year I’ve been meaning to get out and ride new paths and dream under the stars, but never quite got it together apart from one overnighter last summer. A note to ones self. Make the intention and go for it come rain or shine….

So it was an overcast damp morning in Surrey as I took those first peddle strokes from my front door. Fingers crossed hoping the weather would improve I headed in a south-westerly direction and within 15 minutes I was on the first of many quiet picturesque cycle paths. The simple pleasure of cruising along through the english countryside filled me with so much satisfaction that I really wondered why I’d left it so long.

Before I left home I’d put my destination into a journey planner just telling it to use bicycle paths etc then loaded it on my gps without really looking at it. Hoping for a bit of adventure without knowing what was coming. I wasn’t disappointed as the miles just disappeared beneath my wheels and the excitement grew with each new bridleway and country lane discovered, littered with stalls of plants and fresh free range eggs, honesty boxes asking for small donations, reminding me of rural Devon.

IMG_1175_Snapseed

 

IMG_1152_Snapseed

Bridleways……

The skies cleared and the sun came out adding to the increasing pleasure of being out on the bike. By midday things had really warmed up at about which time I came upon Bignor hill, at the bottom I passed a motorist who gave me a knowing glance.  All I could see was the little lane disappear among the trees but I had a feeling it was going to be painful. And up it went. A ridiculous gradient, it put some of the steepest in Devon  to shame. Just over half way I was a mess, sweat pouring out and legs like jelly, even pushing was hard work, I was just thankful for the shade. The lane came out at a car park on the South Downs way surrounded by beautiful views. I lay down in the grass recovering …

IMG_1142_Snapseed

South Downs Way

After some lunch it was back on the bridleways and an old roman road took to the outskirts of Chichester where I stopped off for a coffee. I then headed on NCN 2 making my way through Portsmouth before boarding the ferry for the Isle Of Wight.

IMG_1150_Snapseed

Roman Road

IMG_1157_Snapseed

Leaving the mainland…

After the 20 minute crossing I followed the signs the around the island cycle routine an easterly direction keeping an eye open for a place to camp. After lifting the bike over a stile and pushing it up a ridiculously steep hill through nettles and thistles, I found the perfect place with great views to fall asleep counting stars.

night

Bivvy time

Come morning I was up with the larks and back down the hill in search of breakfast. Two hours later I was on the south coast of the Island enjoying fry up and coffee, looking forward to what the day had to offer. The cycle route is very well sign posted and considerately guides you around the island.

boats

cliffs

IMG_1173_Snapseed_Snapseed

The 63 miles around the island is an enjoyable roller coaster ride easily done in a day or if you want to string it out for two, there is plenty of campsites and wild camping opportunities. I got the evening ferry back to the mainland, hunted down some fish ‘n’chips and went in search of a quiet spot to rest under  the stars.

IMG_1179_Snapseed.jpg

back on the mainland

FullSizeRender

another night under the stars, this time by the estuary…

IMG_1188_Snapseed

ready for the ride home

Picking a slightly different route home I found new cycle paths and did a section of the South Downs way, something I’d like to explore further. Also riding a new bike with a different riding style was fun though I’d wish I’d remembered sunscreen in all my excitement to get out…..

“>

trip-9204746-map-full

part of the route

“>

About brian

cyclist, organic gardener, bike mechanic and a seeker on the spiritual path, when not doing any of these you can find me meditating, practicing chi gong and yoga.... Life is Beautiful!!!
This entry was posted in bikepacking, England, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A couple of days oot…

  1. Brian Dickson says:

    Sounds like you having a great time, love the photos. Ye old man.

  2. Thank you for sharing this journey with us, beautiful photographs too! :o)

Leave a comment